Amanda's Appetizers · Amanda's GF Appetite · Gluten Free · Product Review

Food Face-Off: Frozen Waffles

I received a lot of positive feedback on my previous food face-off post and so here’s another one! I like frozen waffles, but not as much as fresh waffle iron waffles. In college, the dining halls had the waffle irons and oh boy did I take advantage of it. Now, back in the real world, it’s frozen waffles where there are many different types and brands. I did a big gluten free haul at Trader Joe’s and ShopRite a few months ago where I bought Eggo Gluten Free Waffles and Trader Joe’s Wheat Free Waffles. Here are my thoughts on the two and which one is a better buy.

To start, I cooked both brands of waffles 2 different ways, toasted and microwaved. I used butter and syrup on both of them as well.

eggo-gluten-freeEggo Gluten Free Waffles (also available in cinnamon) – The waffles tasted and smelled like regular Eggo waffles. I could also pronounce most of the ingredients and they were flavorful.

trader-joes-wafflesTrader Joe’s Wheat Free Waffles – These waffles were good, but they were very gummy and chewy when cooked. I find that some gluten free products have this consistency. They are edible, but nothing I would ever crave. They also don’t smell like waffles when I cook them. I couldn’t pronounce most of the ingredients.

The winner: Eggo Gluten Free Waffles

Have you tried either of these waffles? Do you agree or disagree with me? Let me know below!

Leave a Reply

