Amanda's Appetizers · Amanda's GF Appetite · Gluten Free · My Life

Food Shopping = Saving Money

Everyone thinks that eating out saves you money. In reality, that’s not the case. I go food shopping every week, spend between $20-$40, and I purchase mostly fruits, vegetables, protein and dairy. Sometimes more if I need to fill in anything in my pantry (snacks, pasta, sauce, beans, etc.) That may seem like a lot but think about it:

I bring my own breakfast and lunch to work every day and make my own dinner at night at least 6 days a week. I would say I eat out 2-3 meals a week. Okay, 6 days a week and 3 meals a day is 18 meals. $40/18 is a little more than $2 a meal. That’s excellent. Yes, I am saving money because some of my co-workers purchase their breakfast and lunch from the cafeteria everyday and drop $10-$15. Another plus, you know what goes into the food you are eating and it’s 100% healthier than 90% of restaurants.

I hope this little post helps you realize that you get the most bang for your buck going food shopping and preparing your own meals!

Leave a Reply

