Amanda's Appetizers · Amanda's GF Appetite · Gluten Free · Restaurant Review

Brick Lane Curry House

Dun Dun Dun! The wait is over! My pick for lunch was Indian food! We went to the Brick Lane Curry House and it was my first time eating there. Chelsea and I enjoy eating Indian food together and trying new foods so it was a win win. The Brick Lane Curry House had a buffet for lunch, which I like because you can try a lot of foods at once. Well, obviously, that’s what a buffet is. Anyway, there were a lot of different options.

There was a soup station and it had mushroom soup. It was so good and tasted like cream of mushroom soup. I didn’t have more than a cup because it was so rich and I wanted to save room for the rest of my lunch.

There was a salad station with cut up cucumbers and carrots with containers of different sauces including a yogurt sauce and chutney. They were good but not very seasoned. We were surprised at this because Indian food is usually very flavorful, sometimes too much!

On to the actual lunch buffet, I tried a little bit of everything!

bricklanecurry

My plate had Tandoori Chicken, Chicken Tikka Masala, green beans and zucchini with coconut (I don’t know what this dish was called), red peppers, eggplant and chilis in a brown sauce (I don’t know what this dish was called), and lentils in a brown sauce (I think it’s called Daal Makhani). There was also rice on my plate.

The tandoori chicken was good, a little dry. The chicken tikka masala was good too; the sauce was creamy. The green bean dish was delicious! I’ve never had anything like it. It was sweet and savory all at the same time. I also really liked both dishes in the brown sauce. They were very flavorful. I had seconds on both dishes in the brown sauce as well as the coconut dish!

For dessert, there was orange mush for lack of a better description. Sorry, I don’t know the name of this dish either but it was made of sweet potatoes and carrots. It was super sweet and flavorful. It seemed like there was maple syrup, cardamon, cinnamon and nutmeg in it. There was a little too much seasoning but I really liked it and had seconds! Chelsea wasn’t a big fan. Oh, there was also tea with milk too. I didn’t like it because I don’t like tea with milk but Chelsea did.

Overall, I really liked this restaurant and am looking forward to going back. I also like that most Indian food is gluten free too.

Leave a Reply

