Amanda's Appetizers · Amanda's GF Appetite · Gluten Free · Restaurant Review

Founding Farmers

For New Years and the long weekend, Brandon and I went down to Washington DC. We wanted a change of pace and one of Brandon’s oldest friends lives there. It was a win win. Over the next few days, I’ll recap our trip.

On New Years Eve, we went to a popular restaurant, Founding Farmers, for dinner. They are a completely sustainable restaurant and all of their food is farm to table.

I had a feeling that the restaurant would be able to accommodate my food allergies even though there wasn’t a separate gluten free menu online (I checked before we went). I asked the waiter if there was a gluten free menu when we got to the restaurant and he brought it right over!

ff1

One side of the menu had all of the options that were gluten free and the other side had dishes that could be made gluten free. I thought it was an interesting concept. Since it was NYE, I decided to order from the actual gluten free menu and not take any changes.

ff2

Brandon and I split the glazed bacon lollis for an appetizer. It was bacon on skewers covered in a  maple syrup and brown sugar glaze. It was delicious. The bacon was crispy and the glaze complimented it perfectly.

ff3

For my dinner, I ordered the center cut 8oz filet (it’s NYE) with green beans and fall succotash (butternut squash, brussel sprouts and parsnips).

ff4

The filet was seasoned very well. I asked for it to be cooked medium and it was more medium well. The green beans and succotash were impeccable. I ate them in about 2 minutes.

I really enjoyed my food. It had nice and clean flavors. Have you eaten at Founding Farmers? How was your experience?

Leave a Reply

