Amanda's Appetizers · Amanda's GF Appetite · Gluten Free · Restaurant Review

Tupelo Honey Cafe – January 3

January 3 – Before we left DC, we wanted to get a hearty breakfast so we wouldn’t have to stop for lunch.

We went to the Tupelo Honey Cafe. I usually do research beforehand and review the menu, but I went into this blind. It was also one of the only restaurants that were opened.

The menu was so unique. It had the regular breakfast staples, but they were elevated with a southern twist.
th1

I liked that there were a lot of “GF” on the menu and that the choices weren’t just eggs and bacon.

I ordered the Super Southern Breakfast Bowl. It sounded delicious and I was ready to try something new.

After we ordered, the waitress brought out a homemade cheddar biscuit for Brandon and gluten free toast for me so I wouldn’t feel left out!

th2

The toast was served with homemade blueberry jam. The waitress recommended adding honey as well.

The bread was very good, but it was a little dry. I really liked the blueberry jam.

th3

Here’s the Super Southern Breakfast Bowl. It was amazing. It had grits, bacon, 2 eggs, black eyed peas and salsa. The eggs were cooked perfectly, and the bacon had a sweet and peppery crust. I want to lie to you and say I finished, but I didn’t. I wish I had the stomach to do it. If I didn’t get the complimentary toast, I would have!

th4

Brandon ordered the Appalachian Bounty Scramble, which was a omelet with cheese, sausage, arugula and blueberries. It came with a kale slaw and toast. It would have been gluten free without the toast. He liked it a lot.

th5

Overall, we had a great experience and it was an excellent end to our weekend trip in DC.

Leave a Reply

