Amanda's Appetizers · Amanda's GF Appetite · Gluten Free · Restaurant Review

Christmas Day in NYC

Brandon and I spent Christmas Day in NYC.

We met up with one of his friends and we decided to eat at the 2nd Avenue Deli.


deli1

There was a little bit of a wait so I decided to take pictures of the food in the display cases. Some are gluten free and some aren’t, but they all look amazing! Let me know below if you agree!

deli4deli3deli2deli5

I ordered a hamburger for lunch and it was delicious.

deli6

After lunch, we just took it easy until it was time for dinner. We drove to downtown to meet my cousin and her husband for Christmas sushi dinner. We ate at Asuka Sushi. We had a reservation but had to wait a little. I’m not a huge fan of when restaurants do that. I mean, that’s why I make reservations!

Brandon and I weren’t very hungry because lunch was so filling. We decided to split spicy tuna wrapped in a cucumber. It was the first time I’ve seen something like this on a menu and I was excited to try it!

sushi1

For my main meal, I ordered the spicy tuna, spicy salmon and spicy California roll combo. I got miso soup with it too.

sushi2

The sushi was good, but the spicy tuna and spicy salmon were too spicy. I actually only ended up eating the spicy California roll.

Brandon ordered a few pieces of sashimi: tuna, salmon and yellowtail.

sushi3

Overall, the company was better than the food (obviously). I wouldn’t go back here because there are better sushi restaurants, especially in NYC. Beggars can’t be choosers on Christmas so it worked.

Leave a Reply

