Amanda's Appetizers · Amanda's GF Appetite · Gluten Free · Product Review

Trader Joe’s Chicken Tikka Masala

Recently, I saw a lot of people posting about Trader Joe’s Chicken Tikka Masala on Instagram and I wanted to check it out. I’m a huge Trader Joe’s fan and always check the frozen aisle for new gluten free entrees. I haven’t seen this one before so I was wondering if it was new?

Anyway, after checking the ingredients, Weight Watchers smart points and nutritional facts, I picked it up. Now, it does have a higher sodium count than I usually buy, but I needed to see what everyone was talking about. Instagram peer pressure people! (ps follow me!)

You just have to follow the directions on the side of the box.

tjschicken

Now, my dish looked nothing like the picture, but frozen entrees never do.

tjchicken

I liked it. It was nothing to write home about and I wouldn’t buy it again because there was no chicken to eat. Trader Joe’s, please add more chicken. The cream sauce, however, have some nice Indian spice to it. I tried the rice plain and in the sauce; the rice needed to be eaten with the sauce or it wasn’t edible. Ugh, frozen dinner struggles.

I was surprised that people were raving about it. I mean, great, a healthier gluten free frozen dinner, but pasta is easier to make and packs a greater punch… My thoughts.

Have you tried Trader Joe’s Chicken Tikka Masala? What do you think?

Leave a Reply

