Amanda's Appetizers · Amanda's GF Appetite · Gluten Free · Restaurant Review

The Ridge Diner

My dad and I went to The Ridge Diner for dinner one Saturday night. I wanted something light and figured I would just get a salad since there would be no gluten free food selections. I don’t have a problem doing that when I know that’s what I want. Does anyone else feel that way?

I opened the menu as soon as we sat down and I decided to skim the pancake section. Why? I don’t know. I think to torture myself. I secretly enjoy doing that. But then I saw it. Gluten free pancakes. What?!?!?! Screw the planned salad. I’m getting gluten free pancakes now. I then flipped the page. There was a gluten free suggestions menu. Again, WHAT?!?!?!?! I was so surprised and happy. My dad was floored. He was so excited because he learned about cross contamination and was worried that my food would be tainted. Now, he didn’t have to worry!

Here’s the menu selection. It’s tiny, but the basics are covered so I’m sure substitutions could be made throughout the menu to make it gluten free.

ridgediner1

I ordered the gluten free pancakes with blueberries. I wanted to get some fruit in my pancakes and I just love blueberry pancakes. My dad ordered regular pancakes with strawberries. He wanted blueberries but didn’t want to confuse the kitchen and have them mess up my order. I explained to him that’s not how it worked, but he got strawberries.

ridgediner2

My pancakes were delicious and they tasted like real pancakes! There was no chewy middle and they didn’t leave an aftertaste. These were the best pancakes I’ve had since being gluten free. I think diner’s know what they are doing and the griddle makes all the difference. I will definitely be going back ASAP to try something else or get the pancakes again. I’m just being honest! Everything in moderation.

Leave a Reply

