Amanda's Appetizers · Amanda's GF Appetite · Gluten Free · Recipes

Pineapple BBQ Chicken

I had a can of pineapple chunks in the pantry and I wanted to get rid of it because it was taking up a lot of room! Goya beans were also on sale at the supermarket and I needed to put them away. I also had a some chicken breasts in the freezer so I was like pineapple chicken in the crock pot! I googled some recipes and came up empty. There were no easy recipes using the ingredients I had in my pantry/fridge/freezer.

Time to make my own recipe! They usually come out the best anyway.

I used 2 lbs of boneless, skinless chicken breasts (defrosted), 1 can of pineapple chunks with the juice, a little bit of BBQ sauce (leftover from the pulled chicken. I’d say it was about a 1/3 cup) and a tsp ground ginger. I put everything in the crock pot and put it on high for 6 hours. I continuously overcook the chicken breasts and was determined to not do that again.

I forgot to take pictures of the steps along the way. I was still under the weather! Cut me some slack!

After about an hour, I rotated the chicken around the crock pot. After another hour, I put the crock pot on warm because the chicken was cooked. I used a knife to poke some slits in the chicken breasts to absorb some of the liquid. After another hour, I shut the crock pot off and just let the chicken sit. It was Saturday afternoon and was making dinner for the next week so I didn’t need the chicken that night.

pineapplechicken

I put 2 containers in the fridge for dinner for the week (4 nights) and 1 container in the freezer. 2 lbs of chicken should last me for 6 dinners.

It was good, but a little dry. It’s definitely something I would make again though.

Leave a Reply

