Amanda's Appetizers · Amanda's GF Appetite · Gluten Free · My Life

Minnesota Gluten Free Food

I was in Minnesota for a few days and got to eat at some of the local restaurants in Minneapolis and St. Paul. I was nervous that I was going to have to order salads, but it turns out I didn’t have to.

First up, the Ox Cart Ale House. I got the house made chicken, roasted garlic, apricot and caramelized onion sausage with no bun and fries. I confirmed that no bread was used to make the sausage.

oxcartmn

It was delicious, juicy and very flavorful.

Next up was the worst restaurant experience I’ve had. I honestly don’t even remember the name of the restaurant. I ordered the gluten free pasta with something. About 20 minutes later, the waitress comes back to the table and tells me there is no more gluten free pasta. WTF. Because I was at a work dinner, I remained calm and asked to look at the menu again. How does a restaurant run out of something and wait that long to tell the customer? How? I’m still upset about it. I would have gotten up and left had it not been a work dinner.

I ended up ordering grilled chicken with tomatoes, basil and mozzarella cheese. It came with veggies. To add to the matter, my chicken was ice cold. Like WTF. I was so pissed. I really wished I could remember the name so I could write a terrible review on Yelp.

mn2

At the airport, we stopped at Ike’s for dinner. I ordered the chopped salad: lettuce, chicken breast, carrot, avocado, bacon, scallions, red onion, hard boiled egg and cucumber. No cheese or tortilla strips, oil and vinegar on the side. It was so good!

ikesmn

Leave a Reply

