Amanda's Appetizers · Amanda's GF Appetite · Gluten Free · Restaurant Review

Rosa Mexicano

For my brother’s birthday, we went to Rosa Mexicano. I was happy because it was Mexican food and most of it is naturally gluten free, but they also had a gluten free menu! I was in heaven.

I ordered a white sangria and it was delicious.

For an appetizer, we got the Guacamole en Molcajete: a table-side preparation. As described on the menu, “since 1984, we have been preparing freshly made guacamole with avocado, jalapeño, tomato, onion and cilantro. Served with warm tortilla chips and salsa.” I confirmed that the tortilla chips were made with corn and not flour!

Sorry that the picture is blurry. We were all starving and I needed to rush the picture.

rosamexicano

My parents and brother all got the same thing: Pescado de Mahi Mahi Baja: grilled white fish with white cabbage escabeche and jalapeño-tartar sauce. It was 3 tacos made with authentic, regional fillings and handmade corn tortillas served with grilled Mexican street corn, achiote rice and black beans. I was going to get that too until I heard everyone else was!

rosamexicano1

I ordered the Pescado a la Veracruzana which was pan-roasted mahi mahi with roasted tomatoes, bell peppers, poblanos, pickled jalapeños, olives, mint and cilantro. It was served with corn tortillas so I had make your own fish tacos.

rosamexicano2

My fish was a little overcooked but it was flavorful. Everyone liked their food. I’d go back because there were so many options.

Leave a Reply

