Amanda's Appetizers

Local Thyme

I met my friend Julie for lunch last week. She’s also gluten free! We were going to go get pizza, but decided last minute to eat healthy. I found a restaurant halfway between the two of us called Local Thyme. It has a lot of gluten free, paleo and vegan options. It’s just the kind of place you would find in Manhattan, but it wasn’t overpriced.

I got the burrito bowl with brown rice. ItΒ was vegan and gluten free and had black beans, sweet potato, corn, pico de gallo, scallion, garlic, guacamole, lime and cashew cream.

localthyme1

I just noticed I got a lemon instead of a lime! Oh well. I mixed everything together and ate it all.

localthyme3

It was so delicious and filling. It was a larger portion that I thought it would be but I was okay with it because it’s packed with nutrients. The cashew cream didn’t taste like cashews orΒ and was very creamy. It actually gave off a little cheesy taste.

Julie got the ALT (mashed avocado, sunflower sprouts, tomato & cilantro) on a gluten free wrap. Hers was also vegan and gluten free.

localthyme2

I don’t know how this picture is so blurry. Julie liked hers too.

localthyme4

We ate our lunches downstairs and just caught up. We will definitely be going back in the future.

Leave a Reply

