Amanda's Appetizers · Amanda's GF Appetite · Gluten Free

Bob’s Gluten Free Oat Bran

My mom bought Bob’s Gluten Free Oat Bran by accident at the Christmas Tree Shoppe. I’m not sure what she meant to pick up, but her loss was my  gain! She didn’t know what to do with it. I’m all for taking any gluten free supermarket item 🙂

The oat bran was so easy to make. I mixed 1/3 cup of oat bran with 1 cup of water. I popped it in the microwave for 3 minutes, stirring every minute to incorporate the water. I also didn’t want it to spill over the bowl edges!

bobsoatbran

It was much thicker than oatmeal. The texture and flavor were actually just like cream of wheat! The oat bran, however, did not have much flavor. It is definitely something that you can spice up to be sweet or savory. I think adding fruit and cinnamon would make it fabulous.

Have you tried oat bran before? What do you think? What are your favorite toppings?

Leave a Reply

