Amanda's Appetizers · Amanda's GF Appetite · Gluten Free · Restaurant Review

The Farmhouse Cafe & Eatery

After dropping a few items off at our apartment before move in day and to check to see if my car would fit into the parking spot (I’m a loon and my car is very wide), Brandon and I went to buy a couch. It was very fast decision and we were happy because we were starving. We headed to The Farmhouse in Westwood.

The Farmhouse Cafe & Eatery is unique cafe experience which offers healthy gluten free, dairy free, vegetarian and vegan options. It is opened for breakfast, lunch and dinner. I ate at The Farmhouse in Cresskill when I used to work in the area and I loved it. I thought it was ahead of its time offering a diverse, healthier style menu. I was excited to try the one in Westwood.

All of the soups are homemade. Brandon started with the tomato garlic bisque soup.

farmhouse1

It was gluten free and vegetarian. He really liked it. I thought it tasted like tomato sauce, but I guess that’s what tomato soup is.

I got the lentil spinach soup. Sorry that the picture didn’t come out well.

farmhouse2

It was gluten free and vegetarian. I really enjoyed my soup. I’ve never eaten lentils and spinach together. This soup is definitely something I am going to try to recreate at home.

For my main meal, I ordered the marinated grilled octopus salad with the white balsamic dressing on the side.

farmhouse3

It had octopus, tomatoes, cucumbers, onions, feta and mesclun greens. I really liked my salad but it was so tiny for the price. Since we moved, we won’t be going back, but I did recommend it to my parents. They ate there and thought the same thing we did: it was good but not for the price.

Leave a Reply

