Amanda's Appetizers · Amanda's GF Appetite · Gluten Free · Restaurant Review

Sugar Freak

We celebrated Brandon’s dad’s birthday before Thanksgiving too! He came down to Astoria for brunch on the Sunday before his birthday. He picked the restaurant Sugar Freak. When Brandon told me the name, I assumed we were going to be eating pancakes and ice cream for brunch. Okay crepes. I was so wrong. It was cajun/creole/southern food. I don’t eat those types of cuisines normally so I was excited to give it a shot.

They don’t take reservations and we ended up waiting about an hour for a table for 3. It wouldn’t be as long if you go with one other person. Fortunately, it was worth the wait.

We sat down and I ask the waiter what was gluten free. He said basically nothing. After waiting for that long and to hear that, I was sad. He said I could order a side salad, grilled catfish or jambalaya. I went with the special seafood jambalaya: clams, shrimp, crawfish, chicken, andouille sausage, grilled catfish and rice.

I had to wait for my lunch too. Look at the portion size. Everything was cooked perfectly. I felt like I ate so much and barely made a dent.

sugarfreak

I ate half and took the other half home for Brandon or so I thought. Haha. I ended up eating it for dinner. It was so delicious. I honestly can’t wait to go back. We will still go at not as high traffic of a time though. I can’t wait for another hour!

Leave a Reply

