Amanda's Appetizers · Amanda's GF Appetite · Gluten Free · Restaurant Review

The Thirsty Koala

Brandon and I met his mom and her boyfriend for brunch a few weeks ago at The Thirsty Koala. I picked this restaurant because they had so many gluten free options and I was very excited!!

We were waiting for a while for his mom to arrive so we were starving and decided to split an appetizer. All of the small plates on the brunch menu were gluten free and we decided to go with the corn and jalapeño fritters: red onion, jalapeño, manchego cheese and coriander.

thirstykoala1

The fritters were so crispy, but they were a little too spicy for me. Brandon liked him and he agreed that they didn’t taste gluten free. The salad was dressed perfectly and I really liked the addition of mango. This is an idea that I’m going to steal for my salads.

For my main dish, I decided to be really healthy and I was really proud of myself. I got the gluten free green bowl: 3 poached eggs, quinoa, kale, spinach, dill, parsley, coriander and olive oil.

thirstykoala2

My food was great. I’ve never had poached eggs before, but I really liked them. The quinoa soaked up the olive oil from the spinach and the egg yolk. This is definitely a dish I’m going to recreate at home. The ingredients are so simple!

The service was a little slow, but the food made up for it. I don’t think we will go back to the restaurant again because there are a lot of restaurants around us.

Leave a Reply

