Amanda's Appetizers · Amanda's GF Appetite · Gluten Free · Recipes

Banana Protein Pancakes

I hopped on the fad train of banana protein pancakes. The last time I made these was a few years ago and they were terrible. I wanted to be brave and try again since I see them all over Instagram.

You’ll need:

  • 1 ripe banana
  • 1/3 cup of egg whites
  • 1 scoop of vanilla protein powder
  • dash of cinnamon

Steps:

  • Mash the banana until it’s smooth
  • Add the egg whites, protein powder and cinnamon
  • Mix everything together
  • Spray your frying pan and heat it up. If you have a griddle, use it!
  • Make your pancakes!

You can totally add any toppings to the batter too (blueberries, chocolate chips, etc.) Also, make sure that the pancakes you make are flat. I had a tough time getting the middle to cook until both sides were burnt.

Pancakes in action!

bananapancakes1

I topped my pancakes with butter, sugar free syrup, strawberries and blueberries. They were pretty good. When you cook them, they smell like pancakes (Brandon was jealous), but they by no means taste like pancakes.

bananapancakes2

They kind of have a texture similar to a sponge if that makes sense.

I made the pancakes again the next weekend and these came out much better. Practice makes perfect!

bananapancakes3

I topped these with butter, sugar free syrup, banana (yes more banana) and strawberries.

Have you made banana protein pancakes? What do you think? What are your favorite pancake toppings? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

