Amanda's Appetizers · Amanda's GF Appetite · Gluten Free · Restaurant Review

Mezza

My parents, Brandon and I went to Mezza last weekend for lunch. We couldn’t decide where to eat, but wanted it to be somewhere close and convenient. Brandon, with his passport membership at the NY Sports Club, was at the gym across the street so it was the perfect meeting ground. My parents had eaten here once before and didn’t like the service, but they were willing to try it again.

First things first, we told the waiter I was gluten free and he said he’d put it with the chef. To start, we ordered the hummus and the smoked eggplant: fire roasted eggplant, pine nuts, chickpeas, tomato relish, radishes, lime labne and herb oil. We thought it was going to be a dip and not a full dish.

mezza1

The dish was very interesting. Brandon and I both liked it, but it wasn’t what we expected, which threw us off a tad.

Now, the hummus. I didn’t get a picture of it because we ate it within seconds. This was the best hummus I’ve ever had. Also, without missing a beat, the waiter served the hummus with pita and a plate of carrot sticks and cucumber slices for me. Double bonus points. We debated on ordering a second bowl, but that’s not portioned size.

I was able to snap pictures of everyone’s food before they dug in. My mom and I got the same thing and my dad and Brandon got non gluten free dishes.

My dad got the avocado crab salad: crabmeat, avocado, baby arugula, grape tomatoes and sherry vinaigrette.

mezza3

Usually salads don’t have enough food to fill up my dad, but this one did and he really liked it.

Brandon got the one of the lunch specials, mediterranean shish kebab:Β marinated steak & bell peppers, couscous & Israeli salad.

mzza2

He loved it and his meat was cooked perfectly. We have started to ask for our meat medium rare because we know restaurants over cook everything so we get it medium. His steak was actually medium rare. Brandon also really liked the couscous and wanted to know why we never never make it for dinner. I told him it wasn’t gluten free, but we can buy it for him to cook. He said no, too much effort. Haha.

My mom and I usually order the same dish when we go out to eat. Today was no different. We got the mediterranean salad: romaine, tomatoes, cucumber, chickpeas, roasted peppers, mushrooms, fresh lemon, olive oil and both added grilled chicken for more protein.

mezza4

This salad was really good and the chicken was cooked perfectly. I was surprised with how much chicken we both got! Better than I thought.

We really enjoyed our food. The service was good and we were all impressed with the waiter’s gluten free knowledge.

Leave a Reply

