Amanda's Appetizers · Amanda's GF Appetite · Gluten Free · Product Review

Trader Joe’s Organic Black Bean Rotini

I’ve been seeing new Trader Joe’s gluten free pastas all over the Internet. I had to give into the hype and try them. I was excited to try black bean pasta. I’ve never had it before (except if you count minor tastings at gluten free events). We cooked the pasta according to the directions on the bag, but sadly ended up overcooking it a little.

blackbean1

I thought you couldn’t overcook beans, but apparently, you can overcook black bean pasta. The pasta was mushy, but it had some flavor. I added my homemade turkey meatballs and tomato sauce to it.

blackbean2

This definitely helped the flavor profile. I’ll finish the bag because it’s edible, but I won’t buy this again and I wouldn’t recommend buying it either. There’s much better gluten free pasta alternatives out there (Banza, I’m thinking about you!)

One thought on “Trader Joe’s Organic Black Bean Rotini

Leave a Reply

